Image copyright: Rheal Doucette – OPL

The winners of the Ottawa Public Library’s 22nd annual Awesome Authors Youth Writing contest were announced on March 28th at an awards ceremony held at Nepean’s Centrepointe Theatre. The competition, which is sponsored by the Friends of the Ottawa Public Library Association, ran from December 2016 to February 2017, and welcomed entries of original poetry, short stories, and comics in a newly-added category this year.

A total of 432 entries in both official languages from Ottawa youth were fielded by judges Caroline Pignat, Catherine Austen, Sylvie Frigon, and Éric Péladeau. Prizes were awarded to 60 talented local authors and artists at the ceremony, which also welcomed family and friends to share in the celebration.

FOPLA’s VP of Operations, Penelope Gould, also offered congratulations to all the young authors and artists present, and reaffirmed our commitment to continue supporting the Awesome Authors contest in future.

The works will be available for purchase this October in pot-pourri 2017, the eleventh annual anthology published by FOPLA featuring all the winning short stories, poems, and comics from this year’s contest. Keep an eye on our website for future details about pot-pourri’s release date, and how you can purchase it on our online store.

The full list of 2017 Awesome Authors winners can be found here.

To pre-order a copy of pot pourri 2017, email or call 613-580-2424 x14383